European Quality Award

5 The European Quality Award Buy this file from http://www. download-it. org/learning-resources. php? promoCode=&partnerID=&content=story&storyID=1369 5. 1 Introduction The European Quality Award is the European equivalent of the Baldrige Award. The European Award took the Baldrige Award as a starting point, and refined it so that it had a similar but unique focus on the adoption of total quality as a business improvement vehicle. This development led to an approach that at the time was more business orientated than that of the Baldrige Award.

Hire a custom writer who has experience.
It's time for you to submit amazing papers!

order now

However, in recent years both models have evolved, and both now have a high degree of business orientation. The award framework discussed in this chapter was developed by the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM), and as such they remain the custodians of the framework. Most European countries have adopted the European model and award process for their national awards. The EFQM notes that the number of organizations using its framework across Europe is rapidly growing, with over 20 000 organizations currently using the model to drive their improvement activities. . 2 Background to EFQM and the awards On 15 September 1988, fourteen chief executives of leading European companies formed the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM) with the aim of enhancing the competitive position of European companies in the world market. In doing this an organization was formed that is the strongest Buy this file from http://www. download-it. org/learning-resources. php? promoCode=&partnerID=&content=story&storyID=1369 152 Assessing Business Excellence executive management-led organization addressing strategic quality issues in Europe.

The fourteen founding members came from both service and manufacturing industry sectors. The membership of EFQM has grown to over 750 members, from most European countries and most business sectors. The EFQM sees itself as having a key role to play in enhancing the effectiveness and efficiency of European organizations through the promotion of the use of its model. The EFQM’s mission is to be the driving force for sustainable excellence in Europe, with a vision of a world in which organizations in Europe excel.

The EFQM forms the centre of an excellence network, and as such is supported by many National Partner Organizations across Europe. Each partner organization runs its own national quality awards using the EFQM Excellence Model®, and provides a distribution channel for EFQM’s products and services. To achieve the mission and vision, the EFQM has a structure of a governing committee, an advisory committee, and a number of steering groups. A key thrust for the EFQM is around the area Buy this file from http://www. download-it. rg/learning-resources. php? promoCode=&partnerID=&content=story&storyID=1369 of recognition, and it was the Recognition Steering Group activity that led to the creation of the European Quality Awards. The objective of the awards is to recognize top quality performance of people and performance in Europe. Originally a number of awards were established, but today all the awards fall within the framework of the ‘Levels of Excellence’ scheme. Since late 2001 there have been three Levels of Excellence: 1. The European Quality Award 2.

Recognized for Excellence 3. Committed to Excellence. The scheme was originally designed so that the levels operated independently. In practice, however, organizations that do not achieve the standard required in order to be considered for the European Award may be considered for the ‘Recognized for Excellence’ scheme if they achieve a score of above 350 at the end of the consensus meeting and of above 400 at the end of the site visit. They also have to indicate that they want to be considered for an award under this scheme on the application form.

For the purpose of this chapter, we will consider only the European Quality Award (EQA). More details on the other levels may be obtained from EFQM. Within the European Quality Award there are three levels, as summarized in Table 5. 1. The EFQM lists many benefits for organizations that apply and win awards. The benefits of winning relate to the promotion the organization receives, which is particularly valuable for private Buy this file from http://www. download-it. org/learning-resources. php? promoCode=&partnerID=&content=story&storyID=1369 The European Quality Award 153 Table 5. : European Quality Award levels European Award level Award Winner Explanation This award is given to the organization that is judged to be the best in each of the award categories, providing they meet certain requirements set by the jurors. The award categories are: ? ? ? ? Large and business units Operational units Public sector Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), of which there are two subcategories: ? Independent SMEs, and ? Subsidiary (Business Unit) SMEs Buy this file from http://www. download-it. org/learning-resources. php? promoCode=&partnerID=&content=story&storyID=1369 Special Prizes

Introduced in 2003, these are given to organizations that excel in some of the fundamental concepts that underpin the EFQM Award framework. Special Prizes will be given for: ? ? ? ? ? Leadership and consistency of purpose Customer focus Corporate social responsibility People development and involvement Results orientation In making this change, which has the objective of promoting role model practices in the areas, the EFQM notes that organizations will have the opportunity of winning more than one prize Finalist Finalists are organizations that are short-listed for the award and prizes but do not


I'm Heather

Would you like to get such a paper? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out